Past Events

From Inspiration to Activism: A Personal Journey Through Obama’s Presidential Campaign (2021)

Friday, March 26th 2021, Mary Sollinger, Winner of the Chicago’s Writers Association’s Book of the Year Award gave an online presentation where she shared her experiences helping Barack Obama win Wisconsin in 2008 in her book From Inspiration to Activism. Discussion of her experience helped to promote insight into historic education on the African American experience.

Health and Human Services Facet Educational Services: Focus on Mental Health Issues – The S Word movie screening (2020)

Please Seek Help…

If you are experiencing suicidal thoughts please seek help. Call the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline at 1-800-273-8255 or chat online. If you are experiencing a substance misuse problem please seek help. Call the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration Helpline at 1-800-662-HELP (4357).

Thank you to our co-sponsors:

The University of Wisconsin-Madison Psychology Department

NAMI Dane County

10th Anniversary Scholarship & Community Recognition Jazz Brunch (2019)

2019 Honorees: Dr. Marcus Allen • Damond W. Boatwright • Dr. Jack E. Daniels, III • Lilada Gee • Renee Moe • The Beacon

View this beautiful gallery of photographs taken during our 10th Annual Scholarship & Community Recognition Jazz Brunch. Thank you to Arrow Star Photography for your excellent work.

You will be taken to a new page. Please enter your email address and this password: Links2019

9th Annual Scholarship & Community Recognition Jazz Brunch (2018)

2018 Honorees: Kaleem Caire • Tracy M. Downs, MD • Debbie Jones, MD • The Madison Symphony Orchestra • Madison-Area Urban Ministry • Joseph T. Parisi

8th Annual Scholarship & Community Recognition Jazz Brunch (2017)

2017 Honorees: Barbara Franks • Oscar Mireles • Shelia Stubbs • Dr. Girma Tefera • Dr. Makeba Williams • Access Community Health Centers

7th Annual Scholarship & Community Recognition Jazz Brunch (2016)

2016 Honorees: Shiva Bidar-Sielaff • Michael Johnson • Barbara McKinney • Dr. John Odom • Dr. Eva Vivian • CUNA Mutual Group

6th Annual Scholarship & Community Recognition Jazz Brunch (2015)

2015 Honorees: Professor Richard Davis • Theresa Sanders • Charles Tubbs • Annie Weatherby-Flowers • General Marcia Anderson • American Girl